BOOKS WE LOVE

This is a selection of books one, many or all of us at VIVA have read and absolutely love. We change this list often as we will read a new book and simply have to have it on our list.


Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:good
Awards:Winner Book of the Year - British Book Awards 2018 Winner Costa Debut Book of the Year 2018 Longlisted for the 2018 Women's Prize for Fiction

Eleanor lives a highly regulated life, struggles with social cues, has no mouth “filter” and relaxes on the weekend eating pizza and consuming two bottles of vodka, feeling she’s completely fine.  When her work computer malfunctions, tec... read more

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Longlisted for The Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Shortlisted for the ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2018

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.
... read more

See What I Have Done

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

A heart-pumping true story of the ultimate adventure - a couple survive a plane crash in the Amazon jungle only to end up clinging to a raft surrounded by death at every turn.Holly FitzGerald and her husband, Fitz, set out on a year-long honeymoon adventure of a lifetime, backpack... read more

Ruthless River

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus looked to the future. 21 Lessons for the 21st Century explores the present. How can we protect ourselves from nuclear war, ecological cataclysms and technological disruptions? What can we do about the epidemic of ... read more

21 Lessons for the 21st Century

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:WINNER FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

The suspenseful and heartbreaking story of an immigrant family driven to pit love against loyalty, with devastating consequences   Isma is free. After years of watching out for her younger siblings in the wake of their mother's death, she's accepted an invitation from a mentor ... read more

Home Fire

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Daughter of the Territory is the amazing life story of Jacqueline Hammar. Born in Darwin in 1929, Jacqueline's childhood was spent in a succession of bush towns before she was sent to school in Darwin. With the outbreak of World War II, she moved to Brisbane to finish h... read more

Daughter of the Territory

'Dark Emu injects a profound authenticity into the conversation about how we Australians understand our continent ... [It is] essential reading for anyone who wants to understand what Australia once was, or what it might yet be if w... read more

Dark Emu: Aboriginal Australia and the Birth of Agriculture

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

'This land is a forever land. The clock ticks to a different time.'Set on the banks of Lake Illawarra and spanning four centuries, Storyland is a remarkable and moving novel about who we are and our connection to this land.Telling the stories of five very ... read more

Storyland [Miles Franklin 2018 Shortlist]

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Shortlisted for Waterstones Book of the Year 2015. Bailey's Shortlist 2016

Brace yourself for the most astonishing, challenging, upsetting, and profoundly moving book in many a season. An epic about love and friendship in the twenty-first century that goes into some of the darkest places fiction has ever traveled and yet somehow improbably breaks throu... read more

A Little Life

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

In Kristin Hannah's The Great Alone, a desperate family seeks a new beginning in the near-isolated wilderness of Alaska only to find that their unpredictable environment is less threatening than the erratic behavior found in human nature.
#1 New York Times Instant Bestselle... read more

The Great Alone

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2019

Quichotte is a love story of profound tenderness and humanity from a great storyteller at his brilliant best. Wise, beautifully written, as heartbreaking as it is wildly comic, its characters unforgettable, its plot dazzlingly suspenseful, Quichotte illuminates our corrupt times where ... read more

Quichotte

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

THE SUNDAY TIMES TOP TEN BESTSELLER
Meet Rosemary, 86, and Kate, 26: dreamers, campaigners, outdoor swimmers...
Rosemary has lived in Brixton all her life, but everything she knows is changing. Only the local lido, where she swims every day, remains a constant reminder of... read more

The Lido