BOOKS WE LOVE

This is a selection of books one, many or all of us at VIVA have read and absolutely love. We change this list often as we will read a new book and simply have to have it on our list.


Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:General Adult
Awards:Shortlisted for Waterstones Book of the Year 2015. Bailey's Shortlist 2016

Brace yourself for the most astonishing, challenging, upsetting, and profoundly moving book in many a season. An epic about love and friendship in the twenty-first century that goes into some of the darkest places fiction has ever traveled and yet somehow improbably breaks throu... read more

A Little Life

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Longlisted for the 2018 Women's Prize for Fiction

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick "Beautifully written and incredibly funny, Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is about the importance of friendship and human connection. I fell in love with Eleanor, an eccentric and regimented ... read more

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick The runaway New York Times bestseller Named a Best Book of the Year by: People, The Washington Post, Bustle, Esquire, Southern Living, The Daily Beast, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Audible, Goodreads... read more

Little Fires Everywhere

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Winner of the PEN/ Hemingway Award Winner of the NBCC's John Leonard Award Shortlisted for the British Book Award - Debut of the Year A New York Times Notable Book A Washington Post Notable Book One of the Best Books of the Year: NPR, Time, Oprah.com, Harper's Bazaar, San Francisco Chr... read more

Homegoing

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Longlisted for The Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Shortlisted for the ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2018

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER. ... read more

See What I Have Done

AS SELECTED FOR THE ZOE BALL BOOKCLUB, A BOOK OF THE YEAR IN THE SUNDAY TIMES, THE TIMES, GUARDIAN, IRISH TIMES, OBSERVER, RED and THE TELEGRAPH.
I AM, I AM, I AM is a memoir with a difference - the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woma... read more

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 A New York Times Notable Book of 2017 A Washington Post Top Ten Book of 2017 A San Francisco Chronicle Top Ten Book of 2017 Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence, the Lambda Award and the California Book Award.

A struggling novelist travels the world to avoid an awkward wedding in this hilarious Pulitzer Prize-winning novel full of "arresting lyricism and beauty" (The New York Times Book Review). WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE National Bestseller A New York Times Notable Book of 2017 A Wash... read more

Less: A Novel

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

First published in 2005, this beautiful, haunting novel begins as Niska is reunited with her nephew, Xavier, after he returns from the horrors of the First World War. As she slowly paddles her canoe on the three day journey to take him home, travelling through the stark but stunni... read more

Three Day Road

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Long-listed for Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2016.

A 19th-century whaling ship sets sail for the Arctic with a killer aboard in this dark, sharp and highly original tale that grips like a thriller.
Behold the man: stinking, drunk, brutal and bloodthirsty, Henry Drax is a harpooner on the Volunteer, a Yorkshire whaling ship ... read more

The North Water

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Winner of Specsavers National Book Awards: Crime/Thriller Book of the Year 2014. Shortlisted for CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2014.

Can you commit the perfect crime? Pilgrim is the codename for a man who doesn't exist. The adopted son of a wealthy American family, he once headed up a secret espionage unit for US intelligence. Before he disappeared into anonymous retirement, he wrote the definitive book on foren... read more

I am Pilgrim

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Daughter of the Territory is the amazing life story of Jacqueline Hammar. Born in Darwin in 1929, Jacqueline's childhood was spent in a succession of bush towns before she was sent to school in Darwin. With the outbreak of World War Two, she moved to Brisbane to finish ... read more

Daughter of the Territory

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

As children, Ida loves looking after her younger sister, Nora, but when their beloved father dies in 1926, everything changes. The two young girls move in with their grandmother who is particularly encouraging of Nora's musical talent. Nora eventually follows her dream of a bril... read more

The Sisters' Song