BOOKS WE LOVE

This is a selection of books one, many or all of us at VIVA have read and absolutely love. We change this list often as we will read a new book and simply have to have it on our list.


Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:W

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2018 "Everything about this novel rings true. . . . Original, funny, disarmingly oblique and unique."--The Guardian
In an unnamed city, middle sister stands out for the wrong reasons. She reads while walking, for one. And she has been taking French n... read more

Milkman

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Shortlisted for International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 1998 and IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 1998 and Booker Prize for Fiction 1996.

1843. Grace Marks, sixteen, is declared guilty and sentenced to life in prison for participating in the murders of Thomas Kinnear, for whom she was a maid, and Nancy Montgomery, the housekeeper and Thomas' lover. Years later, a group of reformists and spiritualists try to obtain a pardon for her.

Alias Grace

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Daughter of the Territory is the amazing life story of Jacqueline Hammar. Born in Darwin in 1929, Jacqueline's childhood was spent in a succession of bush towns before she was sent to school in Darwin. With the outbreak of World War II, she moved to Brisbane to finish h... read more

Daughter of the Territory

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Winner of Specsavers National Book Awards: Crime/Thriller Book of the Year 2014. Shortlisted for CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2014.

Critics are calling I AM PILGRIM: "Unputdownable." --Booklist "The best book of 2014." --Suspense Magazine "The next Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." --The New York Post A breakneck race against time...and an implacable enemy. An anonymous young woman murdered in a run-down hotel, al... read more

I Am Pilgrim

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:General Adult
Awards:Winner of Victorian Premier's Literary Award - Victorian Premier's Prize for Fiction 2017 and Queensland Literary Awards: University of Queensland Fiction Book Award 2016.

Outside, the rain continues unceasing; silver sheets sluicing down, the trees and shrubs soaking and bedraggled, the earth sodden, puddles overflowing, torrents coursing onwards, as the darkness slowly softens with the dawn.
Ester is a family therapist with an app... read more

Between a Wolf and a Dog

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:SHORTLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

"Ingenious... Builds to one of the most memorable final scenes I've read in a novel this century." --The New York Times
 
WINNER OF THE 2018 WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION
 
LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE The suspenseful and heartbreaking story of a... read more

Home Fire

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

'Educated is a remarkable memoir of a young woman raised in a survivalist family in Idaho who strives for education while still showing great understanding and love for the world she leaves behind.'
- BARACK OBAMA ________________________ Tara Westover grew up preparing for the E... read more

Educated

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Soon to be a Hulu limited series, starring Reese Witherspoon and Kerry Washington
 
Named a Best Book of the Year by: People, The Washington Post, Bustle, Esquire, Southern Living, The Daily Beast, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Amazon, Barnes & No... read more

Little Fires Everywhere

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

A debut literary thriller from an incredible new voice. What do you do when the man who gave you everything turns out to be a killer? Perfect for fans of STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel. Since the Damn Stupid turned the clock back on civilization by centuries, the world has... read more

The Wolf Road

Yanis Varoufakis, the bestselling author of Adults in the Room, uses personal stories and famous myths to explain what economics is and why it has the power to change our world. Why is there so much inequality?In this intima... read more

Talking to my Daughter About the Economy: A Brief History of Capitalism

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Series:Spellslinger

A would-be mage with no magic of his own has to defeat powerful enemies with only cunning and deception in the first book of an exciting adventure fantasy series from Sebastien de Castell.Kellen is moments away from facing his first duel and proving his worth as a spellcaster. The... read more

Spellslinger (#1)

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Series:Penguin Celebrations
Awards:Runner-up for The BBC Big Read Top 100 2003.  

No Marketing Blurb

The Secret History