BOOKS WE LOVE

This is a selection of books one, many or all of us at VIVA have read and absolutely love. We change this list often as we will read a new book and simply have to have it on our list.


Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Longlisted Miles Franklin 2019 Winner ABIA Book of the Year 2019 Winner ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2019 Winner Matt Richell New Writer of the Year 2019 Winner Audio Book of the Year 2019 Winner UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing - NSW Premier's Awards 2019 Winner Debut Fiction Australian Indie Awards 2019 Winner Book of the Year Australian Indie Awards 2019

An utterly wonderful debut novel of love, crime, magic, fate and a boy's coming of age, set in 1980s Australia and infused with the originality, charm, pathos, and heart of Extremely Loud and... read more

Boy Swallows Universe (PB)

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

A universal story of love, friendship, and growing up.
At school Connell and Marianne pretend not to know each other. He's popular and well-adjusted, star of the school football team, while she is lonely, proud, and intensely private. But when Connell comes to pick his mot... read more

Normal People

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

'Extraordinary...smart, sophisticated, suspenseful - and important. If you try one new thing this year, make it Star of the North.'LEE CHILD'Tense and compelling.? James Swallow, Sunday Timesbestselling author of NOMADNorth Korea and the USA are on the brink of warA young Am... read more

Star of the North

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reviewed by Pascale, one of our longstanding casual staff members and a creative writing major. Murakami’s new novel Killing Commendatore is the Kyoto-born author at his whimsical best. Compelling and enigmatic, it follows a Japanese portrait painter and the ... read more

Killing Commendatore

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus looked to the future. 21 Lessons for the 21st Century explores the present. How can we protect ourselves from nuclear war, ecological cataclysms and technological disruptions? What can we do about the epidemic of ... read more

21 Lessons for the 21st Century

THE AWARDWINNING, INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER'The Choice is a gift to humanity. One of those rare and eternal stories that you don't want to end and that leave you forever changed' DESMOND TUTU, Nobel Peace Prize LaureateIn 1944, sixteen-year-old Edith Eger w... read more

The Choice: Even in Hell Hope Can Flower

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Longlisted for The Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Shortlisted for the ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2018

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.
... read more

See What I Have Done

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Winner of Specsavers National Book Awards: Crime/Thriller Book of the Year 2014. Shortlisted for CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2014.

Critics are calling I AM PILGRIM: "Unputdownable." --Booklist "The best book of 2014." --Suspense Magazine "The next Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." --The New York Post A breakneck race against time...and an implacable enemy. An anonymous young woman murdered in a run-down hotel, all ... read more

I Am Pilgrim

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:WINNER FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

The suspenseful and heartbreaking story of an immigrant family driven to pit love against loyalty, with devastating consequences   Isma is free. After years of watching out for her younger siblings in the wake of their mother's death, she's accepted an invitation from a mentor ... read more

Home Fire

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Daughter of the Territory is the amazing life story of Jacqueline Hammar. Born in Darwin in 1929, Jacqueline's childhood was spent in a succession of bush towns before she was sent to school in Darwin. With the outbreak of World War II, she moved to Brisbane to finish h... read more

Daughter of the Territory

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

'This land is a forever land. The clock ticks to a different time.'Set on the banks of Lake Illawarra and spanning four centuries, Storyland is a remarkable and moving novel about who we are and our connection to this land.Telling the stories of five very ... read more

Storyland [Miles Franklin 2018 Shortlist]

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:good
Awards:Winner Book of the Year - British Book Awards 2018 Winner Costa Debut Book of the Year 2018 Longlisted for the 2018 Women's Prize for Fiction

Eleanor lives a highly regulated life, struggles with social cues, has no mouth “filter” and relaxes on the weekend eating pizza and consuming two bottles of vodka, feeling she’s completely fine.  When her work computer malfunctions, tec... read more

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine