BOOKS WE LOVE

This is a selection of books one, many or all of us at VIVA have read and absolutely love. We change this list often as we will read a new book and simply have to have it on our list.


Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Soon to be a Hulu limited series, starring Reese Witherspoon and Kerry Washington
 
Named a Best Book of the Year by: People, The Washington Post, Bustle, Esquire, Southern Living, The Daily Beast, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Amazon, Barnes & No... read more

Little Fires Everywhere

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Where have I come from? From the land of rivers, the land of waterfalls, the land of ancient chants, the land of mountains...
In 2013, Kurdish journalist Behrouz Boochani was illegally detained on Manus Island. He has been there ever since.
People would ru... read more

No Friend but the Mountains

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Shortlisted for Waterstones Book of the Year 2015. Bailey's Shortlist 2016

Brace yourself for the most astonishing, challenging, upsetting, and profoundly moving book in many a season. An epic about love and friendship in the twenty-first century that goes into some of the darkest places fiction has ever traveled and yet somehow improbably breaks throu... read more

A Little Life

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Longlisted for the 2019 Women's Prize for Fiction Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2018

In an unnamed city, middle sister stands out for the wrong reasons. She reads while walking, for one. And she has been taking French night classes downtown. So when a local paramilitary known as the milkman begins pursuing her, she suddenly becomes "interesting," the last thing she ever ... read more

Milkman

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:2018 Irish Book Awards Novel of the Year Winner of the 2018 Costa Novel Award   LONGLISTED FOR THE 2018 MAN BOOKER PRIZE Longlisted for the 2019 Women's Prize for Fiction  

 A wondrous and wise coming-of-age love story from the celebrated author of Conversations with Friends 
At school Connell and Marianne pretend not to know each other. He's popular and well-adjusted, star of the school football team, while she is lonely, proud and in... read more

Normal People

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Winner of Specsavers National Book Awards: Crime/Thriller Book of the Year 2014. Shortlisted for CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2014.

Critics are calling I AM PILGRIM: "Unputdownable." --Booklist "The best book of 2014." --Suspense Magazine "The next Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." --The New York Post A breakneck race against time...and an implacable enemy. An anonymous young woman murdered in a run-down hotel, all ... read more

I Am Pilgrim

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

'Educated is a remarkable memoir of a young woman raised in a survivalist family in Idaho who strives for education while still showing great understanding and love for the world she leaves behind.'
- BARACK OBAMA ________________________ Tara Westover grew up prepari... read more

Educated: A Memoir

'Why is there so much inequality?' Xenia asks her father, the world famous economist Yanis Varoufakis.
Drawing on memories of her childhood and a variety of well-known tales - from Oedipus and Faust to Frankenstein and The Matrix - Varoufakis explai... read more

Talking to My Daughter about the Economy

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! The twisty new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door and A Stranger in the House A weekend retreat at a cozy mountain lodge is supposed to be the perfect getaway . . . but when the storm hits, no one ... read more

An Unwanted Guest

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

'This land is a forever land. The clock ticks to a different time.'Set on the banks of Lake Illawarra and spanning four centuries, Storyland is a remarkable and moving novel about who we are and our connection to this land.Telling the stories of five very ... read more

Storyland [Miles Franklin 2018 Shortlist]

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah's Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances. New York socialite Ca... read more

Lilac Girls

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 A New York Times Notable Book of 2017 A Washington Post Top Ten Book of 2017 A San Francisco Chronicle Top Ten Book of 2017 Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence, the Lambda Award and the California Book Award.

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 'You will sob little tears of joy' Nell Zink 'I recommend it with my whole heart' Ann Patchett 'I adore this book' Armistead Maupin 'Charming, languid and incredibly funny, I absolutely adored Arthur' Jenny Colgan 'Marvellously, endearin... read more

Less: A Novel