BOOKS WE LOVE

This is a selection of books one, many or all of us at VIVA have read and absolutely love. We change this list often as we will read a new book and simply have to have it on our list.


Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

As children, Ida loves looking after her younger sister, Nora, but when their beloved father dies in 1926, everything changes. The two young girls move in with their grandmother who is particularly encouraging of Nora's musical talent. Nora eventually follows her dream of a bril... read more

The Sisters' Song

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

An ambitious, remarkable and moving novel about who we are: our past, present and future, and our connection to this land. In 1796, a young cabin boy, Will Martin, goes on a voyage of discovery in the Tom Thumb with Matthew Flinders and Mr Bass: two men and a boy in a tiny boat on an e... read more

Storyland

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Longlisted for The 2018 Stella Prize Short-listed for Victorian Premier's Literary Awards - Fiction 2018 (Australia) Indie Book Awards - Winner Fiction 2018 (Australia) Shortlisted for the ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2018

I never had words to ask anybody the questions, so I never had the answers. Abandoned by her mother as a toddler and only occasionally visited by her volatile father who keeps dangerous secrets, Justine is raised solely by her Pop, an old man tormented by visions of the Burma Railway. ... read more

Nophoto

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

3 billion lives at stake. 2 people who can save them. 1 secret hidden in their DNA. A breathtaking debut series about one girl's quest for answers in a genetically and technologically advanced future. There's no gene for RUN LIKE HELL.
When a lone soldier, Cole, arrives wi... read more

This Mortal Coil

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

First published in 2005, this beautiful, haunting novel begins as Niska is reunited with her nephew, Xavier, after he returns from the horrors of the First World War. As she slowly paddles her canoe on the three day journey to take him home, travelling through the stark but stunni... read more

Three Day Road

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:General Adult
Awards:Shortlisted for Waterstones Book of the Year 2015. Bailey's Shortlist 2016

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2015A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara is an immensely powerful and heartbreaking novel of brotherly love and the limits of human endurance.When four graduates from a small Massachusetts college move to New York to make their way, they're brok... read more

A Little Life

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Series:Vintage Magic Ser.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Two starcrossed magicians engage in a deadly game of cunning in The Night Circus, the spellbinding bestseller that has captured the world's imagination. The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday ... read more

The Night Circus

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Long-listed for Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2016.

A 19th-century whaling ship sets sail for the Arctic with a killer aboard in this dark, sharp and highly original tale that grips like a thriller.
Behold the man: stinking, drunk, brutal and bloodthirsty, Henry Drax is a harpooner on the Volunteer, a Yorkshire whaling ship ... read more

The North Water

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

'The wide horizontal branches stretched away from me to curl up like the giant fingers of an enormous cupped hand. I slid back into the centre of its protective palm and waited for my heart to slow. After a while the small herd of Fallow deer I had been following emerged... read more

The Man Who Climbs Trees

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

fA luminous and enthralling story of birds and science, ambition and sacrifice, revolutions - both big and small - and the late-blooming of an unforgettable woman. I first loved him because he taught me the flight of a bird. I was too young to realise that what I rea... read more

The Atomic Weight of Love

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:General Adult
Awards:Winner of Victorian Premier's Literary Award - Victorian Premier's Prize for Fiction 2017 and Queensland Literary Awards: University of Queensland Fiction Book Award 2016.

Outside, the rain continues unceasing; silver sheets sluicing down, the trees and shrubs soaking and bedraggled, the earth sodden, puddles overflowing, torrents coursing onwards, as the darkness slowly softens with the dawn. Ester is a family therapist with an appointme... read more

Between a Wolf and a Dog

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:General Adult

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah's Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.
New Yo... read more

Lilac Girls: A Novel