BOOKS WE LOVE

This is a selection of books one, many or all of us at VIVA have read and absolutely love. We change this list often as we will read a new book and simply have to have it on our list.


Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

A universal story of love, friendship, and growing up.
At school Connell and Marianne pretend not to know each other. He's popular and well-adjusted, star of the school football team, while she is lonely, proud, and intensely private. But when Connell comes to pick his mot... read more

Normal People

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:WINNER FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

"Ingenious... Builds to one of the most memorable final scenes I've read in a novel this century." --The New York Times   WINNER OF THE 2018 WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION   LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE The suspenseful and heartbreaking story of an immigrant family drive... read more

Home Fire

THE AWARDWINNING, INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER'The Choice is a gift to humanity. One of those rare and eternal stories that you don't want to end and that leave you forever changed' DESMOND TUTU, Nobel Peace Prize LaureateIn 1944, sixteen-year-old Edith Eger w... read more

The Choice: Even in Hell Hope Can Flower

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Long-listed for Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2016.

LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2016 A NEW YORK TIMES TOP TEN NOTABLE BOOK 2016 A ship sets sail with a killer on board . . . 1859. A man joins a whaling ship bound for the Arctic Circle. Having left the British Army with his reputation in tatters, Patrick Sumner ha... read more

The North Water

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

THE SUNDAY TIMES TOP TEN BESTSELLER
Meet Rosemary, 86, and Kate, 26: dreamers, campaigners, outdoor swimmers...
Rosemary has lived in Brixton all her life, but everything she knows is changing. Only the local lido, where she swims every day, remains a constant reminder of... read more

The Lido

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good

Reviewed by Pascale, one of our longstanding casual staff members and a creative writing major. Murakami’s new novel Killing Commendatore is the Kyoto-born author at his whimsical best. Compelling and enigmatic, it follows a Japanese portrait painter and the ... read more

Killing Commendatore

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good

A gripping novel about the whirlwind rise of a fictional  iconic 1970s rock group and their beautiful lead singer, revealing the mystery behind their infamous breakup. "I devoured Daisy Jones & The Six in a day, falling head over heels for it. Daisy and the band ... read more

Daisy Jones and the Six

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Winner Book of the Year - British Book Awards 2018 Winner Costa Debut Book of the Year 2018 Longlisted for the 2018 Women's Prize for Fiction

Eleanor lives a highly regulated life, struggles with social cues, has no mouth “filter” and relaxes on the weekend eating pizza and consuming two bottles of vodka, feeling she’s completely fine.  When her work computer malfunctions, tec... read more

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Longlisted for The Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Shortlisted for the ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2018

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.
... read more

See What I Have Done

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Soon to be a Hulu limited series, starring Reese Witherspoon and Kerry Washington
 
Named a Best Book of the Year by: People, The Washington Post, Bustle, Esquire, Southern Living, The Daily Beast, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Amazon, Barnes & No... read more

Little Fires Everywhere

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Winner of Specsavers National Book Awards: Crime/Thriller Book of the Year 2014. Shortlisted for CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2014.

Critics are calling I AM PILGRIM: "Unputdownable." --Booklist "The best book of 2014." --Suspense Magazine "The next Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." --The New York Post A breakneck race against time...and an implacable enemy. An anonymous young woman murdered in a run-down hotel, all ... read more

I Am Pilgrim

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:General Adult
Awards:Winner of Victorian Premier's Literary Award - Victorian Premier's Prize for Fiction 2017 and Queensland Literary Awards: University of Queensland Fiction Book Award 2016.

Outside, the rain continues unceasing; silver sheets sluicing down, the trees and shrubs soaking and bedraggled, the earth sodden, puddles overflowing, torrents coursing onwards, as the darkness slowly softens with the dawn.
Ester is a family therapist with an app... read more

Between a Wolf and a Dog