Reality Slap

Author(s): Russ Harris


The 'reality slap' takes many different forms. Sometimes it is so violent it's more like a punch: the death of a loved one, a serious illness, a major injury, a freak accident, a shocking crime, a disabled child, the loss of a job; bankruptcy, betrayal, fire, flood, divorce or disaster. Sometimes it's a little gentler: envy, loneliness, resentment, failure, disappointment or rejection. But whatever form it takes, one thing's for sure: it hurts! And most of us don't deal with the pain very well. This book is based on a scientifically proven mindfulness-based approach called 'Acceptance and Commitment Therapy' (ACT). Within these pages, you will learn how to cope effectively when life hurts: not just how to survive, but how to thrive. Using the proven principles of ACT, you'll discover how to:* find peace in the midst of your pain* find calm in the midst of your chaos* anchor yourself in the midst of emotional storms* increase your sense of connection with yourself and others* use your painful emotions to cultivate wisdom and compassion* find fulfilment even when you can't get what you want* heal your wounds, and come through stronger than before.


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

'The Reality Slap' is a book that takes us to the heart of being human, to really help us change from the inside.' -- Professor Paul Gilbert, PhD

The Reality Slap is a book that takes us to the heart of being human, to really help us change from the inside. - Professor Paul Gilbert, PhD

Dr Russ Harris is a medical practitioner, psychotherapist, and bestselling author of The Happiness Trap, which has now been translated into 22 languages. He is one of the world's leading authorities in ACT, and regularly travels all over Australia and internationally to train a wide variety of professionals in the approach. His other books include The Confidence Gap, ACT With Love, ACT Made Simple and the fictional novel Stand Up Strummer.

Introduction: The Slap and The Gap PART 1: AFTER THE SLAP Chapter 1: The Four Steps Chapter 2: Presence, Purpose and Privilege PART 2: HOLD YOURSELF KINDLY Chapter 3: A Caring Hand Chapter 4: Back To The Present Chapter 5: His Master's Voice Chapter 6: Pause The Movie Chapter 7: Live and Let Go Chapter 8: The Third Way Chapter 9: A Curious Look Chapter 10: Take Off Your Goggles Chapter 11: The Wisdom of Kindness PART 3: DROP THE ANCHOR Chapter 12: Anchors Away Chapter 13: Coming Home PART 4: TAKE A STAND Chapter 14: What's My Purpose? Chapter 15: Purpose and Pain Chapter 16: What Really Counts? Chapter 17: The Four Approaches Chapter 18: Holding Hot Coals Chapter 19: It's Never Too Late PART 5: FIND THE TREASURE Chapter 20: It's A Privilege Chapter 21: To Stand and Stare Chapter 22: Pain Into Poetry Appendix 1: Defusion Techniques and Neutralisation Appendix 2: Mindfulness of the Breath Appendix 3: Values Clarification Appendix 4: Goal Setting Appendix 5: ABA, RFT and Child Development Resources Acknowledgements Index

General Fields

  • : 9781921497261
  • : Exisle Publishing Pty Limited
  • : Exisle Publishing Pty Limited
  • : 0.366
  • : August 2011
  • : 234mm X 154mm X 14mm
  • : Australia
  • : November 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Russ Harris
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 616.89142
  • : 240